NEWTOWN Football Club will join fellow Welsh entrants TNS and Bala Town in the first qualifying round of the UEFA Europa Conference League.

The first legs of UEFA's latest club competition will kick-off on July with the second leg a week later on July 15.

Unseeded Newtown will look to avoid the top seeds - Maribor of Slovenia and Hungarians Fehervar - while Sarajevo in Bosnia and Sutjeska in Montenegro are also among the seeded clubs.

Lower ranked seeds include Hibernians of Malta and Coleraine of Northern Ireland while San Marino's La Floriata are would also represent a good draw for Newtown.

TNS on the other hand are the fifth highest seeds in the entire round and will be favourites to progress against the unseeded ranks which includes Bohemians and Sligo Rovers of the Republic of Ireland to Podgorica of Montenegro.

Should the Welsh clubs progress to the second qualifying round then a potential meeting with Scottish giants Hibernian and Aberdeen becomes a possibility while Swiss side Basel, Danish side FK Copenhagen and Dutch giants Feyenoord enter the competition.

A further round is contested with the arrival of Russia's Rubin Kazan and Belgium's Anderlecht before English side Tottenham Hotspur and Italian club Roma enter the competition on August 19 for the play-off round on August 19 and 26.

The draw for the qualifying round will be held on June 15 with the final at Arena Kombëtare in Tirana in Albania on May 25, 2022.

So who could TNS and Newtown face in the first qualifying round? Read about some of their possible opponents.


Fudbalski klub Podgorica - Montenegrin unknowns

DG Arena, Podgorica. Picture: Street View.

DG Arena, Podgorica. Picture: Street View.

Formerly known as OFK Mladost 1970, is a football club from the south western part of Podgorica, Montenegro.

The club play at the 4,300 capacity DG Arena and ended last season in fourth position in their national league. This is the club's first taste of European football and, with a coefficient of 1.000, are ranked among the lowest of the unseeded clubs.

Sligo Rovers Football Club - Close to home

The Showgrounds, Sligo Rovers. Picture: Street View.

The Showgrounds, Sligo Rovers. Picture: Street View.

The club was founded in 1928 and have been in the League of Ireland since 1934.

The club is a co-operative venture, owned by the people of Sligo. Rovers have played at 5,500 capacity Showgrounds since their inception. While the club has played in Europe 24 times in all competitions their record of just three wins would make the Saints favourites.


Maribor - giants of Slovenia

Maribor. Picture: Wikiwand.

Maribor. Picture: Wikiwand.

NK Maribor are regarded as a symbol of Slovenian football, particularly in their home region of Styria in north eastern Slovenia.

Maribor have won a record 15 Slovenian PrvaLiga titles, nine Slovenian Cups and four Slovenian Supercups and the highest seed in the first qualifying round draw. The club plays at the 12,000 capacity Ljudski Stadium.

Coleraine - A winnable contest

Coleraine FC. Picture by Lasagneman4/Wiki.

Coleraine FC. Picture by Lasagneman4/Wiki.

Coleraine Football Club is a semi-professional Northern Irish football club, playing in the NIFL Premiership. The club, founded in 1927, hails from Coleraine, County Londonderry and plays its home matches at The Showgrounds.

Despite 42 appearances in Europe the club has only won five and are ranked among the lowest of the seeded clubs.