By David Figg

Macron Cup

First Round

FC Oswestry Town 2

West Didsbury and Chorlton 2

(FC Oswestry Town

win 5-4 on penalties)

FC Oswestry Town claimed their second penalty shootout victory of the season after a 2-2 draw with West Didsbury and Chorlton.

Town have now taken their unbeaten run to six consecutive matches.

They went behind early in the game but drew level quickly through in-form striker Dave Howarth.

The hosts took the lead in the second half but their visitors grabbed an equaliser 15 minutes later.

With no more goals in the game, the sides headed into a penalty shootout which saw Town win 5-4.

Didsbury took the lead after just three minutes when a free-kick was headed on by Martyn Andrews and met by Anthony Potts who fired a close-range shot past Town keeper Sam Aguis.

Their lead lasted just under 15 minutes when Howarth latched onto a long pass from Louis Moss and lobbed the advancing Didsbury keeper to make it 1-1.

The first half was evenly contested after the goals, but both sides were unable to find the net again.

After the break, Town were quick to put themselves ahead when Moss made it 2-1.

Howarth held up the ball well before playing it inside to Moss, whose driven left-foot strike put them ahead.

They were unable to keep their lead for long however, with Danny McLaughlin’s close-range header found the net over the head of Aguis.

With both sides unable to find a winning goal, they were sent to penalties.

Didsbury were first to step up and find the net, before Liam Parry finished Town’s first spot kick.

Aguis became the hero of the afternoon, saving McLaughlin’s penalty.

The remaining penalties found the net for both teams, meaning Town won when Spridgeon scored their fifth penalty to put them through to the next round.

FC Oswestry Town are next in action when they travel to Abbey Hulton United on Saturday.