Welsh Cup

Caernarfon Town 1


The New Saints are into the quarter-finals of the Welsh Cup after new striker Dean Ebbe marked his full debut with a double as Saints knocked Caernarfon out of another cup.

The much-anticipated clash between the Welsh Premier League leaders and the Cymru Alliance leaders didn't fail to deliver.

The Irishman got off to a flyer when he repaid Scott Ruscoe's faith to score inside the first five minutes as he tapped home the rebound after Caernarfon keeper Alex Ramsey parried Jamie Mullan's effort, following a defensive error.

Nearly 1,500 people were there to see if Caernarfon could the upset of the round but Saints stood firm, taking a 1-0 lead into the break.

It was same again in the second as TNS made a lightning start with Ebbe grabbing his and his side's second of the game on 48 minutes.

The tall frontman ran onto to Aeron Edwards's long through ball and when Town failed to cut it out, he stood tall to lift the ball over the onrushing Ramsay _ once of TNS – to make it 2-0.

Town nearly pulled one back two minutes later when Gareth Evans's cross found Danny Brookwell but he didn't head well and sent his effort over the bar.

The hosts thought they might have a shout for a penalty when the ball appeared to strike Connell Rawlinson's arm on 66 minutes, but referee Rob Jenkins said no

However, the never-say-die spirit of the Canaries ensured they were thrown a lifeline in the 77th minute when good work by Jamie Breese down the left saw his ball into the penalty area met by Darren Thomas and the deficit was reduced.

Both sides continued to create chances – including new Estonian signing Kevin Kauber on for his debut in a TNS shirt – but it was right at the death when the crucial fourth goal of the game was scored.

This time it was the opposite of the second goal as this time Ebbe turned provider in the box as Edwards smashed the ball home, meaning Ruscoe's dreams of a quadruple in his first season remained intact.

Saints head into the draw for the last eight with seven Premier League sides and Tier 5 minnows Penydarren BGC.

TNS: Harrison, Spender, Rawlinson, Hudson, Marriott, Brobbel (Kauber 69), Holland, Mullan, Darlington (Pryce 89), Ebbe

Not used: Jones, Saunders, Routledge