The nominations are in and those standing for the Local Elections 2017 have been announced and are now preparing to battle it out ahead of Thursday, May 4.

Here, we list all the Shropshire Council candidates in the Advertizer region, plus those standing for Oswestry Town Council.

We will be publishing the remaining town and parish councils in due course.


Ellesmere Urban: Ann Hartley (Conservative); Rod Keyes (Lib Dem).

Gobowen, Selattyn and Weston Rhyn: Craig Emery (Labour); Stephen Froggatt (Green Party); Paul Herbert (Green Party); Mark Jones (Conservative); Robert Macey (Conservative); Jack Roberts (Labour); Henry Stevens (Lib Dem).

Llanymynech: Matt Lee (Conservative); Olly Rose (Green Party); John Thornton (Lib Dem).

Oswestry East: Clare Aspinall (Conservative); David Bennett (Green Party); Lee Bennett (Lib Dem); Martin Bennett (Independent); Peter Cherrington (Independent); Carl Hopley (Labour); Mike Isherwood (Green Party); John Price (Conservative); Amanada Wood (Lib Dem).

Oswestry South: Duncan Kerr (Green Party); Paul Milner (Conservative).

Oswestry West: Barry Edwards (Green Party); Romer Hoseason (Lib Dem); Vince Hunt (Conservative).

Ruyton and Baschurch: Nick Bardsley (Conservative); Graeme Currie (Labour); Alex Jones (Lib Dem); Robert Jones (Federalist Party of the United Kingdom).

St Martins: Steve Davenport (Conservative); Neil Graham (Labour).

St Oswald: Joyce Barrow (Conservative); Len Evans (Independent).

The Meres: Julie Bushell (Lib Dem); Carlo Ferri (Green Party); Patrick Manners (Independent); Brian Williams (Conservative).

Whittington: Steve Charmley (Conservative); Edward Goff (Green Party); Christopher Jones (Independent); David Walker (Lib Dem).


Cabin Lane: Clare Aspinall (Conservative); Martin Bennett (Independent); Peter Cherrington (Independent); Alan Davis (Independent); Mark Jones (Conservative); Rod Skinner (Green Party).

Cambrian: David Bennett (Green Party); Carol Booth (Independent); Margaret Chamberlain (Lib Dem); Julie Edwards (Conservative); Stephen Froggatt (Green Party); Nikki Highes (Green Party); John Gareth Jones (Independent) Chris Schofield (Conservative).

Carreg Llwyd: Mike Coppock (Independent); Steve Mason (Conservative); John Price (Conservative); Chris Stokes (none).

Castle: Lee Bennett (Lib Dem), Alan Busby (Conservative); Steve Charmley (Conservative); Mike Isherwood (Green Party); Duncan Kerr (Green Party); Matt Lee (Conservative); Rosie Radford (Independent); Olly Rose (Green Party).

Gatacre: Barry Edwards (Green Party); Gary Foote (Green Party); Jay Moore (Conservative).

Maserfield: Ian Davies (Conservative); Rebecca Evans (Independent); Romer Hoseason (Lib Dem); Vince Hunt (Conservative); Elizabeth Williams (Green Party).

Victoria Ward: Sandy Best (none); Ted Bruce (Green Party); Paul Milner (Conservative).