Conservative Councillor, John Price has been declared the winner of last night’s Oswestry East by-election.

Cllr Price received a total of 629 votes to earn a convincing polling day victory against the three other candidates to contest the Shropshire Council seat.

Labour candidate Claire Norris received 247 votes, with 231 votes for Duncan Kerr and 218 votes for Amanda Woof who represent the Green Party and Liberal Democrats respectively.

The by-election was called following the resignation of long-standing Councillor Martin Bennett last month.

In last night’s town council election, Conservative candidate Mark Jones won the Cabin Lane Ward seat after receiving 194 votes.

Green party candidate, Christopher Wood was second with 101 votes, followed by Independent candidate David Baines with 63 votes.

Liberal Democrat, Romer Hoseason earned 45 votes, while Independent candidates Ian Kevin Garland and Gary David Williams earned 37 and 36 votes respectively.