TNS 3 Aberystwyth Town 0

The New Saints maintained their four point lead at the top of the JD Cymru Premier with a comfortable 3-0 win against Aberystwyth Town on Friday night.

Two first-half goals from Declan McManus and a second-half header from Ryan Astles got the job done for the Saints against an Aberystwyth side which continues to struggle to make an impact this season.

The Saints almost broke the deadlock inside the opening five minutes with goalkeeper Gregor Zabret at full stretch to deny Declan McManus’ powerful strike.

McManus was not to be denied for long and two minutes later opened the scoring from the penalty spot after Ryan Brobbel was fouled in the area.

McManus continued to torment the visitors with his curling effort dipping over the bar before Brobbel, Leo Smith and Jordan Williams each tested their luck to no avail.

Border Counties Advertizer: Jordan Williams of TNS in action against Aberystwyth Town. Picture by Brian Jones.

Jordan Williams of TNS in action against Aberystwyth Town. Picture by Brian Jones.

Brobbel was denied by the woodwork as the Saints dominance continued to be unrewarded until McManus completed his brace on the stroke of half-time after good work by Smith.

The Saints continued to be totally dominant with McManus rattling the post just after the break before Zabret pushed a Ben Clark piledriver around the post.

However from the resulting corner from Brobbel the Saints settled the outcome with Astles heading home to complete a totally dominant display on 64 minutes.

McManus had one final chance to snatch a hat-trick in stoppage time only to fail to convert from inside the area but the Scotsman had already done enough to ensure the Oswestry side maintained their unbeaten league record.

TNS: Harrison, Marriott (Ebbe 83), K Davies, Astles, Routledge, Brobbel, McManus, Redmond, Williams (Robles 76), Smith (Clark 57), D Davies: Subs: Parry, Baker, Canavan, Holland.

Aberystwyth Town: Zabret, Rimmer, R Davies, Thorn, M Jones, Veale, Franklin, S Davies (Orford 90), Evans, Correia, O Jones (Phillips 46). Subs: Pennock, Stojanovic, Ricketts, Darlington.