Chirk Cricket Club held its annual presentation night to honour its players for the 2022 season.

Before the awards were made to the players a special presentation was made by the High Sheriff of Clwyd Zoe Henderson to chairman Tim Flack for his outstanding service to the club and people of Chirk.

Tim was an outstanding and very skilful player and upon hanging up his cricket boots turned his hand to coaching the youth team players, many of whom have now progressed to the successful first team.

He is also an umpire and acts weekly in this role for most first team matches.


The awards to the players followed with the presentations being made by the club sponsors Dale Randall of Heat Source Energy Solutions, Trevor Morris of Caffi Wylfa and Meurig Davies of Terry’s Autos.

Awards went to all the players of the junior teams while senior team awards were led by Nick Flack who scored the most runs in the season while Jonathan Phillips took the most wickets.

Steve Connor made the most runs for the second team with Martin Wright claiming the most wickets.

Harry Wright was named Junior Player of the Year while George Collins was awarded the Young Player of the Year accolade.

Special prizes went to John Swarbrick for his outstanding work for the club over many years and the Wright family, Martin, Melissa and Harry, who became the first father, mother and son to play for one team in a single match.

Want to stay up to date with all the latest stories from Oswestry and the surrounding area? Click here to sign up for our morning and daily email newsletters and click on the + for the ‘Morning Briefing’ and the 'Daily Catch-Up'.