Aberystwyth Town 1 TNS 0

TNS tasted their first JD Cymru Premier defeat of the season as John Owen fired Aberystwyth Town to a shock win at Park Avenue tonight.

The Saints arrived fresh from their biggest win of the season against Haverfordwest County but found the Seasiders sterner foes.

Ryan Brobbel tested goalkeeper Gregor Zabret early on with the home No1 also forced into action to save at the feet of Danny Redmond from Jon Routledge's 17th minute throughball.

However the Seasiders could have led after 29 minutes only for John Owen to volley over from six yards.

Both sides could have broke the deadlock near the end of the half with a David Evans cross flashing across the face of goal while Louis Robles headed over from close range as TNS were left to rue a missed opportunity.

TNS dominated possession at the start of the second-half with Redmond firing wide and Danny Davies blasting over before Zabret denied Redmond on the hour.

Both sides rung the changes while referee Iwan Griffith was also replaced by Mark Petch but the match remained goalless.

Adrian Cieslewicz' shot dipped just over the woodwork with seven minutes remaining and just two minutes later the Saints were stunned.

The Saints gave away possession in midfield with Mathew Jones releasing Owen with a glorious throughball to slot under an advancing Paul Harrison.

The Saints laid siege for the remainder of the game but Aberystwyth held firm to celebrate a shock win.

ABERYSTWYTH: Zabret, Jenkins, Thorn, M Jones, Veale, Owen, Franklin, Phillips, D Evans (Correia 82), Orford (J Jones 90), Darlington. Subs: Pennock, S Davies, Stojanovic, Allen

TNS: Harrison, Marriott, Astles, Routledge, Brobbel, McManus, Redmond, Hudson, Clark (Cieslewicz 64), D Davies, Robles (Williams 65). Subs: Parry, Ebbe, Smith, Baker, Canavan