TWO former mayors of Oswestry have beaten a strong list containing town councillors and a parliamentary candidate to be elected to Shropshire Council.

Councillors John Price and Chris Schofield were strong winners in the Oswestry East division, with the former polling highest with 889 votes. Cllr Schofield – who last month announced he was standing down as a town councillor – made his return to Shropshire Council with 667 votes.

That placed more than 150 votes ahead of their nearest competitor Jay Moore (501), who recently joined the Green Party while his fellow candidate – and town councillor – Olly Rose received 446 votes in a keenly-contested ward.

Liberal Democrat candidates Lee Bennett and Romer Hoseason received 146 votes between them, while Graeme Currie – who has stood for Labour in the North Shropshire constituency at a number of General Elections – received a solid 324 votes.

Cllr Price retained the seat he won four years ago for the Conservatives, alongside party colleague Cllr Schofield.