FIVE new board members from a variety of professional backgrounds will be joining the Joint Governing Body at NHS Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs).

The new board members are Astakhar Ahmed, Dr Martin Allen, Julie McCabe, Gary Turner, and Meredith Vivian OBE, and will begin their positions from August 1.

Dr Julian Povey, chairman of Shropshire CCG, believes the recruitment of the five new members is down to successful planning to find the right people.

“We have enjoyed a successful recruitment drive for these positions with very talented individuals applying for the roles," said Dr Povey.

“Those appointed will be able to bring a plethora of expertise and experience to the new governing body and we are confident they will ensure the best outcomes for patients.”

David Evans, joint accountable officer for Shropshire CCG and Telford and Wrekin CCG, added: “With Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin CCGs bringing their decision-making processes closer together, our governing body members will hold key roles.

“It will be very exciting to see how they help to shape the new single CCG and work to develop and improve local health services in the future."

Mr Ahmed is a criminal defence solicitor with his own firm, and is a member of the Birmingham Law Society and Criminal Law Committee, and also a lay manager at Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust.

Dr Allen is a hospital consultant with interests in a variety of respiratory problems, including chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), ventilatory support and sleep medicine.

Mrs McCabe has worked in the NHS for 25 years as a nurse and midwife as well as an operational and senior manager. She currently works for NHS Wales as assistant director responsible for the National Quality and Safety Programme.

Mr Turner's career in NHS senior management has spanned 37 years and has involved overseeing support services to Primary Care. Gary is also the chairman of a multi-school academy.

Mr Vivian was awarded an OBE for services to patient and public involvement in 2006 after a distinguished career at the Department of Health.