Round 14 of the Oswestry Paragon Time Trials series saw 37 riders turn out on another warm and sunny evening but the breezier conditions meant that the times were generally slower than the abundance of personal bests recorded the previous week.

Taking the honours for the second time this year was Mike Hill of Chester RC who clocked 21 minutes and 51 seconds, to give him a one second winning margin over Tom Garbett of Total Tri (21:52).

With just three rounds of the series remaining riders are out to move up the rankings in the Bikeworks points series and it was Two Paragon riders challenged for third place, with Jack Morris (22:05) coming out ahead of Tom Richardson (22:16), and in fifth place was Jed Friskney (22:29) of Sleaford Wheelers whose previous race was the Mersey RC 24-hour time trial two weeks ago, after covering over 409 miles during the 24 hour period.

Dave Saunders of Mid Shropshire Wheelers clocked 22:40 to take sixth place ahead of team mate Matthew Barrett (23:22). Mark Hill of Hafren CC took seventh in 23:42.

The Oswestry event continues to attract visitors from outside the area with Stuart Armitage of Birchfield CC (23:46) taking eighth place ahead of Liam Evans of Harrogate Nova (23:49) taking ninth and 10th place, respectively.

Jack Young was again fastest junior rider crossing the line in 23:52 for 11th place leading home a quartet of Paragon riders, Adam Riley was again the fastest Paragon rider on a standard road bike in 24:50 just ahead of a tie between Andrew Davies and Steve Roberts who both finished in 24:53 despite Roberts still carrying the scars of an accident on a training ride the previous evening.

Fastest woman was Milly Deer of Total Tri in a time of 26:28 ahead of Paragon rider Vikki Jones (28:07) and Anneka Schubmehl (33:11).

Elsewhere Helen Tudor took part in the Cardiff 100 mile RC 50 mile time trial in Abergavenny recording a personal best time of 2hrs16min11.

The final race Paragon time trial this year is on Friday, August 23.