LAST Friday's Paragon event saw the best turnout so far this year, with the weather in the riders' favour.

The Oswestry Paragon Evening time trial series was into its fifth round last week and it played host to the first sub 20-minute ride of the year.

On the Queens Head Gobowen course, a hard-fought battle took place between Holohan Coaching's Kirk Vickers and Team Botrill's George Evans with Vickers averaging at 30mph and coming out on top with a record time of 19 minutes and 55 seconds.

Evans took the second place spot with a time of 20:06 and Kieran Morris was in third place with 21:41, making his first under 22 minute finish this year.

Oswestry Paragon's fastest rider was Jack Morris who came in fourth – showing he is a force to be reckoned with after switching to a more aerodynamic time trial specific bike.

He finished in 22:07, putting him one second ahead of Angelo DeRosa of Poco Loco Cycling.

In sixth place, was Paragon rider Tom Richardson who crossed the line in 22:30, followed by Tomos Hales of Wrekinsport in 22:59.

The next four places were hard fought with Peter Thomas of Hafren CC finishing in 23:06 coming home ahead of Paragon rider Gary Duncan in 23:16), Mid Shropshire Wheelers Dave Saunders in 23:27 and another Hafren rider, Mark Hill in 23:33.

Jack Young continued to accumulate points towards regaining his Paragon junior title finishing 13th in 24:13.

Hafren’s Emma Serjeant produced the quickest ride by a woman so far this year, crossing the line in 24:28 putting her ahead of the Mid Shropshire Wheelers team mates Jenny York 26:20 and junior, Daphne Jones 27:11.

Mathew Parry continues to lead the road bike category finishing in 25:10.

A special mention goes to 81-year-old Pete Norman who has competed in his 200th Paragon evening, clocking a time of 31:14 this week.