It WAS another dull and overcast evening with the threat of rain looming over the course, but that did not stop the 37 competitors in round three of the Oswestry Paragon Time Trial Series.

For the second week in a row, it was junior rider Kieran Morris riding for Abergavenny Cycling Club who came home first in a time of 22 minutes and four seconds, putting him 18 seconds ahead of Angelo DeRosa of Poco Loco Cycling, who knocked more than a minute-and-a-half off his round two time.

Third place went to another junior rider, with 15-year-old Ben Pierce of Mid Shropshire Wheelers crossing the line in 22:52, becoming the only other rider at the event to cross the line in under 23 minutes.

The Hafren pair of Mark Hill 23:10 and Peter Thomas 23:46, took fourth and fifth place ahead of George Rowlands of Mid Shropshire Wheelers who clocked 23:53.

The quickest Paragon rider this week was Dean Barnett on his season debut on the Queens Head-Gobowen course clocking 24:17 for seventh place. Another Mid Shropshire Wheelers rider Tim Jones took eighth place in 24:24, putting him one second ahead of Benjamyn McKay of Mule CC who finished with a time of 24:25.

Two junior riders fought it out for 10th place, with Lichfield City CC’s Ryan Greaves (24:32) ahead of Oswestry’s Jack Young (24:42). Young was the second fastest Paragon rider ahead of Andrew Davies (24:57) who rode his first competitive event of the year.

In the competition for fastest Paragon rider on a standard road bike, Mathew Parry knocked more than half a minute off his round one time to cross the line in 25:12, to extend his lead over Adam Riley who managed 25:36.

Mid Shropshire Wheelers junior Daphne Jones was the fastest female rider in a time of 27:16 putting her ahead of the Mule CC pairing of Sarah Breeze (29:45) and Liz Breeze(30:54).