THE second round of the Oswestry Paragon time trial series took place last weekend and saw 22 riders turn up to test themselves against the watch on a cool and overcast evening.

Kieran Morris knocked 47 seconds off his round one time and moved one step up the podium to take first place.

The junior rider clocked a time of 22 minutes and one second to give him the win ahead of Richard Kay of North Shropshire Wheelers 22 minutes and 44 seconds.

Dave Scott of Mule Cycling Club crossed the line in 23 minutes and 21 seconds, putting him just ahead of Mid Shropshire Wheelers’ Tony Harvey’ who crossed the line in 23 minutes and 28 seconds. Fifth place went to Angelo DeRosa of Poco Loco Cycling who crossed the line in 24 minutes and two seconds.

The Oswestry evening events attract plenty of talented juniors with two 15-year-olds battling it out for sixth place with Ryan Greaves of Lichfield City Cycling Club (24 minutes and 14 seconds) edging out Jack Young who finished with a time of 24 minutes and 38 seconds.

Young however, had the consolation of taking the honours for fastest Paragon rider for the first time laying down a marker for the senior title to add to his junior trophies.

Eighth place went to Dave Fanning of Ruthin Cycling Club with 25 minutes and six seconds, ahead of the second of the Paragon riders Steve Roberts who was pleased to start his season with a time of 25 minutes and nine seconds. Mark White of Mid Shropshire Wheelers recorded 25 minutes and 55 seconds giving him tenth place ahead of Darrell Walsh with 26minutes and eight seconds.

There is a season long competition for the fastest Paragon member on a standard road bike with no aerodynamic aids and this weeks quickest rider was Mark Devaney with a time of 27 minutes and two seconds.

There was only one female competitor this week with twelve-year-old Cerys Greaves finishing in 28 minutes and 53 seconds.