YOUNG runners at an Oswestry club were rewarded for their great efforts throughout the season as they won the county title.

Oswestry Olympians Juniors concluded their Shropshire Sportshall League season with the under-13s boys’ team winning the title for the first time in nine years.

On top of their success, the U15s boys’ team came second, despite just having two runners available for their age bracket.

In the final meeting of the season the U13s suffered an early setback with key sprinter Ollie Rogers arriving unwell.

Nevertheless, he still managed an admirable time and fourth place finish in the two-lap A race before being forced to go home early.

Football commitments have prevented Jack Tinney from competing in earlier meetings at the far end of the county, however he was able to join the team for this home fixture and soon proved his worth winning both the two-lap and three-lap B races.

The Oswestry dominance continued with Ben Rothera, Aaron Warburton and Cato Pugsley all winning their races.

The team remained unbeaten for the remainder of the afternoon with Aaron Warburton winning the standing long jump and Massimo Wyatt the standing triple jump before Jack Tinney replaced Ollie Rogers as the team again romped home in the relay.

The U15 boys have been able to field just two athletes this season but careful selection of events enabled Luke Steel and Tom Hotchkiss to secure enough points to see their team end the season as runners up.

This team has higher hopes for next season with Ben Rothera, Cato Pugsley and Massimo Wyatt moving up from the successful U13 team to join Luke and Tom who will still be available.

The U13 girls also struggled with availability but Ellen Gray, Jess Steel and Libby Williams performed well, with Ellen Gray particularly impressive winning the Standing Long Jump with a leap of 1.96 metres.

Some determined performances from Anna Rothera, Mia Wyatt, Molly Tinney and Nia Tansley took the U15 Girls to fourth for the season.

With large numbers of U11 girls and boys attending training, there were no problems fielding full teams for their events.

Abbie Whitehead, Emelia Lloyd, Isla Rothera, Jessica Card, Kate Hotchkiss, Lowri Jones and Menna Pugsley took their girls team to fourth, whilst Archie Calloway, Dan Paige, Freddie Heasmor-Jones, Harry Tidridge, Jack Hughes, Riley Woolcock and Ryan Paige achieved the same feat for the boys.