Oswestry senior men crowned cross country champions

Published date: 12 February 2013 |
Published by: Staff reporter
Read more articles by Staff reporter


OSWESTRY Olympians’ senior men have been crowned North Wales Cross Country Series champions following the final race of the season.
The event hosted by Oswestry last weekend (February 2) saw a great turnout from the seniors despite the recent snow and rain making for very heavy conditions.
But with Peter Butler leading the way for Oswestry, finishing fifth in the men’s race, the home team topped the Division Two table with 1,338 points ahead of Buckley RC on 1,378, and the Whitchurch Whippets on 2,206 points. Oswestry also came third in the Male Masters Teams league with 278 points.
Not to be outdone, Charlotte Jones was the first Olympians woman home finishing in tenth and helping the ladies team to take the Division One runner’s up spot, as well as the Lady Masters Team title finishing with 260 points ahead of Telford AAC and Colwyn Bay AAC.
There was further success as Jon Hancock won the Men’s Over 55 overall award, with Tania Brandon taking second in the Ladies Over 45s, Alison Lavender came second in the Overall Ladies competition and Peter Butler was fifth in the Overall Men’s category.
Jimmy Kershaw continued his good form to finish second in the Men’s Under 17 race finishing in 20 minutes and 13 seconds.

North Wales Cross Country Series, Oswestry, February 2:
Men: 5, Peter Butler; 31, Ian lowe; 42, Tim Gears; 51, Nick Eyke; 52, Tim Tansley; 56, Jon Hancock; 85, Richard Foggin.
Women: 10, Charlotte Jones; 16, Daisy Tickner; 19, Ali Tickner; 20, Tania Brandon; 24, S Van Olsen; 25, Yvonne Hill; 26, Jacqui Smith; 31, Susie Hancock; 44, Sarah Greaves; 54, Liz Park; 66, Marilyn Hunt.
RIGHT: Jon Hancock won the Men’s Over 55 overall award following the last race of the season.

Featured Businesses

View all adverts